Gary Kovacs: Tracking our online trackers

Gary Kovacs: Tracking our online trackers

Summary:

Nowadays, over 2.5 billion of people around the world are connected to each other, and they gain knowledge or share their information. Although the internet offers convenience to us, a danger is hidden under its advantage. We surfs the internet getting information; meanwhile, our personal information might be collected without notice. We are leaving our personal information such as our birthdays, our interests and preferences, relationships and our places of residence. There is a new industry called behavioral tracking which is collecting our trace we leaved while surfing and build our profile. Once all of that data is gathered, they can use it for any purpose. In this area, there are few regulations and rules, so consumer are almost naked against damage from behavioral tracking. He introduced a program called Collusion. It helps us to see where our Web information is going and tracked. With Collusion, he could realize that more than 150 sites were tracking his personal information in a day while he checked email, read online news and looked some video. He claims that we are being watched, and we have to act something to protect our information. He recommends to install Collusion and we’ll check behavioral tracking.

Opinion:

I reviewed some comments, and there were other claims against his argument. Someone said that tracking is anonymous, and no personal information is allowed to be tracked. I can’t judge which one is true, but I think the lecturer argues acceptable claim. I agree with his opinion that the seriousness of data spill. When we find locations through our app, or search for restaurant our information is collected. I realized a danger of behavior tracking. That is why I try to not leave my trace when I surf web sites. I rarely upload posts Facebook and I try to find information after I log out. Through this lecture, I could estimate how the scale of behavioral tracking is. In addition, I want to ask him that what we are going to do next. I think just noticing how many sites are tracking our information is not that important. We have to discuss more specific solution to protect our privacy.


Vocabulary & Expression

In fact, when I know the data that’s being shared and I’m asked explicitly for my consent, I want some sites to understand my habits.

explicitly(adv)/explicit(adj): Something that is explicit is expressed or shown clearly and openly, without any attempt to hide anything.

Korean Equivalent: 명쾌한, 분명한

Synonyms: accurate, certain, clear

Antonyms: ambiguous, doubtful, imprecise

Personal Sentence: he gave me very explicit directions on how to get there.

Consent(noun): If you give your consent to something, you give someone permission to do it.

Korean Equivalent: 동의, 허락

Synonyms: approval, assent, permission

Antonyms: denial disagreement, refusal

Personal Sentence: He is charged with taking a car without the owner’s consent.

 In fact, there’s an entire industry formed around following us through the digital woods and compiling a profile on each of us.

Compile(verb): When you compile something such as a report, book, or programme, you produce it by collecting and putting together many pieces of information.

Korean Equivalent: (여러 출처에서 자료를 따와) 엮다, 편집[편찬]하다

Synonyms: collect, compose, organize

Antonyms: destroy, disarrange, disorder

Personal Sentence: The book took 10 years to compile.

답글 남기기

